This Week in Toastmasters

Lock yourselves in your mom’s basement, throw your favorite vinyl record on the stereo and soak in a pool of teenage angst. It’s…

THIS WEEK IN TOASTMASTERS!

I’ve been working from home most of this week. When that happens, I get to hang out in jeans and t-shirts, listening to my high school collection of Led Zeppelin records. Right now, I’m listening to “Dazed and Confused” from their first album which, due to reports of all the drugs they were taking when they recorded it, was just as much as surprise to the band when they first heard it as it was to their fans.

Robert Plant: These guys are pretty good

Jimmy Page: They’re us, mate.

Robert Plant: No s**t?

Jimmy Page: No s**t.

My friends and I liked to pretend we were members of the band when we were kids. A lot of people wanted to be either Plant (the lead singer) or Page (the guy who uses violin bowstrings to play lead guitar), but when I was a teenager –  100 pounds lighter, with thick, flowing locks of long hair that hung past my shoulders if you can believe that –  I wanted to be John Bonham, the drummer. This was likely because I grew up watching The Muppet Show and Animal from Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem was always my favorite character.

Something about him just spoke to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.